Frances Ha

Frances Ha

***

If you are 37 and you are reading this newspaper on the couch that some guys you just met have been letting you crash on since you were kicked out of your last place…then you should think about making some major changes in your life.

If you are 27 and reading this from the couch of some guys you just met because your last apartment fell through…then keep up the good work. Everything is fine.

If you are fortunate enough not to have any children or major responsibilities yet, your 20s are the perfect time to live the wild life, try new things, and broaden your horizons.

When I was in my 20s I used to rent rooms in other people’s houses. I’d meet a stranger online using the “For Rent” classifieds, go over and check out the room, and just move on in without signing a lease.

It was definitely better than living alone. There’s something exciting about coming home to a surprise or new people or a new adventure every night. And on the rare occasion I succeeded in bringing home a girl, a house full of people seemed much cooler and less creepy than a lonely single-guy apartment.

And even though I wasn’t making much money back then, I never felt so rich because I was only paying about $300 a month for rent and utilities.

Looking back, that lifestyle seems pretty darn crazy. But I’m glad I did it. I learned a lot about myself. And one of the girls I brought home ended up becoming my wife.

“Frances Ha” is a little independent movie about a 27 year old woman – Frances (Greta Gerwig) – who is following my advice.

The film follows a tumultuous year in Frances’s life. It begins with Frances breaking up with her boyfriend and having to leave her Brooklyn apartment when her best friend moves to Manhattan.

Without a permanent home or a career, Frances floats aimlessly from place to place and from job to job.

To outsiders – and to some viewers – Frances appears to be a childish loser. But that’s not how she views herself. Frances remains perpetually optimistic, even as she lies to people about how bad things are at the moment.

And it turns out that Frances was right to be optimistic. Things start to work out for her.

Just as I eventually stopped living in dirty little rented rooms and sleeping on a futon mattress on the floor, Frances eventually finds a stable job and a respectable place of her own. It’s a surprisingly happy little ending to a surprisingly hopeful little movie.

